Search This Blog

Saturday, December 12, 2009

Wedding Bells and Snow Flurries

What's up rock stars? How YOU doin'?

Anywhoo, it seems little old Savannah got a bit of a snow flurry today. Didn't last for long, but in Savannah snow is always worth mentioning should it actually occur.

Tonight I got some interesting bits of info: My cousin has drafted me for the role of wedding singer and planner. So I will be helping her plan out the details and make the things happen that she wants. Tonight and over the next few days she will be deciding on those said wants.

I will be meeting with the manager of Barnes and Noble tomorrow morning at ten to chat with them. Hopefully this is a good thing. Keep you posted ;-)

Also, my sister lied when told me she used protection. Yep. Exactly. How about it? Uh-huh.

Signed,

The Ice King

Thursday, December 10, 2009

Friday, 1600 Hours

...is when I find out whaddup with the status of my potential employment with Barnes & Noble. Here's to believing. And if I don't find out tomorrow, Barnes & Noble will become a pile of wreckage, fire, and rubble. :-)

Signed,
The Ice King

To Tell Or Not To Tell...

What's up rock-stars? How YOU doin'?

I was and am fine, but a couple of days ago, I made a startling discovery.

Following my infamously tacky interview at un-named location, I received a dinner invite from a close friend, my twisted sista (if you're reading this, smile) which prompted me to decide, 'well, why don't I just stop by my mom's and chill there until it's time to head to dinner?' They're both around the corner and down the street from each other so it would equal a hop, skip, and jump. Makes sense, right?

Well, upon reaching my mom's place, I didn't see her car there but at that point in the afternoon figured my sister should be home.
Makes sense, right?

I didn't text her until I was ringing the doorbell. If she was home, she'd likely be doing homework or watching TV, both of which can be done in the public area only steps away from the front door.
Makes sense, right?

It took her a minute to get to the door, and she let me in, sat on the couch with me and chit-chatted before asking me how long I'd be there. I told her about an hour, 90 minutes tops. She was shocked. I asked why. She made me promise not to tell. I made a blind promise for the sake of obtaining information. She revealed she had company. A guy.
WHOOOAAAAAAAAA-insert shocked face and moment of stunned silence.

My next question was: What is he doing here? What are you doing with him here? to which she assured me that she was not planning any of "that" and I'm sure you know what "that" is.

Readers, keep in mind my sister is 14. My mother had me when she was 14, so you can understand how that makes one feel. ..

The enormity of this proceeded to hit me. WTF? WHAT. THE. FUCK. ?????

I was stunned by it all, from the closed door, to seeing him leave, to being hit by those disgusting scents of body fluid and penetration and seeing throw her sheets into the washer and spray the room. My only questions was: Are you using protection?

I was assured yes, and realized later this could very well be as honest of an answer as the one she gave me about her NOT having sex.
By the end of the night, I told my mother in private everything that took place, even going back to a minor vehicle event that my sister attempted to use to blackmail me with. All of it was out. And my mother was more stunned than I was, of course, and couldn't go back into the house right away.

Rock stars, this situation is being dealt with, and as serious as it is, I still cannot believe that it could have easily gone unnoticed. Had I not received a dinner invite from my twisted sista, I never would have stopped home. Ugghhh.....

Rock stars, for those of you who have kids or siblings, please be mindful and do NOT turn a blind eye due to trust that has been placed in vain. I truly pray that this is as far as I have to go on this topic.


Signed,

The Ice King

"Give It Up To Me"






New Shakira-yes? No? Maybe so???

Less CG. More dancing.

Signed,

The Ice King

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Sex Toys + Unemployment = a HOT MESS!!!

Ladies and gentlemen, it is extremely tacky, unethical, and awkward to interview a candidate for a position at the store register in front of customers checking out and asking questions in the middle of the day. If you do this, you are tacky. Shame on you. And that is all I have to say.

Signed,

The Ice King

Still in Waiting...

What's up rockstars? How YOU doin'?

The announcement of my possible future employment with Barnes & Noble is still in limbo my friends...I have decided to keep calling after being told that I should call them Tuesday (today) to reach them and get word. Unfortunately, neither manager I spoke with on Saturday will be back until later this week, I'm told. Which could very well be tomorrow. But, as the interview went really well, I am still VERY much optimisttic....

So here's to my future with Barnes & Noble: Yea? Yea? Good? GREAT.....





Signed,

The Ice King

Saturday, December 5, 2009

Bad Romance, baby




Signed,

The Ice King

The End of Another Chapter

What's up rock stars? How YOU doin?'

I decided that for once I would write first and title later.
Below is the debut video for one of my top favorite performers the divine Mr. Adam Lambert. Can I say that he is an immaculate vocalist and his style is similar to that of what I would want mine to be as a performer? Oh well, if I can't say it, I already did. Too late. Sorry...

ABC had recently announced that he is scheduled to perform and be interviewed by the ladies of the View. I am glad that ABC is making an effort to put this whole thing behind them. I will not rehash what I've already written on Facebook but I will say that he does not deserve to be subjected to anything other than fair treatment. But I love the music video. I just hope others see this and get the idea of what the piece is supposed to evoke, not what they think it's saying to them on stage during the AMA's.

In other news, I am closer to identifying what needs to be done to my "sickly vehicle" (i.e. a radiator replacement, brake work to restore the missing pressure, and stoppage of the oil leak.) That will be accomplished with the acquisition of....

...A JOB! Funny you should mention that. I had a great interview with the management of Barnes & Noble today. Not getting carried away, but out of the three (or four if you count Old Savannah Tours) this is the best one because we had three things: a good rapport, definite scheduling outlines, and a definite timeline for correspondence.) I will be praying sincerely for this one to go through. I will know by Tuesday though. My interview with Spencer's is on Monday. It would be nice to get both. We shall see how those will work out in the coming weeks. So by January I will have a new start in some way.

I have also decided to grow my hair out into the "twists" or "dreads" that I've been thinking about for months now. Now that I have my piercings I can work on that and then my tattoos.

Those are physical goals. But I have a lot of things I would like to accomplish next year. With 2009 winding down, it is time for me to reflect on what I want to do and formulate plans on how to do those things and most significantly, ENACT those plans.
By this time next year I will have accomplished a major goal in music by creating a project with a good friend of mine (Adam-NOT Lambert, lol) I will be in the process of publishing the book I am working on, I will be living in New York. Life will be a truly interesting and new journey for me, not one of struggle and stress and hurt brought on by my mistakes and people I used to call "close friends". I have to use this down time for something. I have it, so it's time to reevaluate and revamp the Derrell that has existed up to this point. Things need to change inside AND outside (besides, I've got to buff up, too ;-)

(Nice-I'm actually really listening to Adam Lambert's CD right now and really hearing it for the first time-awesome)

(BTW-this is post #20 for me-yay!!)

To new beginnings,

Signed,

The Ice King

Mr. Lambert's debut...3 words: For Your Entertainment





Signed,

The Ice King ;-)

Thursday, December 3, 2009

On the Prowl




Getting closer to what I need. Today saw me meeting with another insurance company and with a sales manager at Dillard's. Neither of them could actually go anywhere but who knows? At this point I think both insurance companies are out. But my employment may come in the form of a mall-two actually-depending on whether I can be hired by Dillard's now and how well these interviews go with Barnes and Noble as well as Spencer's. But at least I am making progress, which is good for my sickly car-lol

Only thing with these insurance companies is the certification part, which may work out for a reason because maybe life insurance is not meant to be my field right now. Who knows? But I sincerely hope that I am hired by Barnes and Noble-AND Spencer's. Or B/N and Dillard's. Either way, 2 jobs is my goal right now, lol....

Here's to a better tomorrow and an even better Saturday and Monday!

Signed,

The Ice King

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

...

As the days stretch on...my unemployment is becoming more of a pain in my ass once again. I don't want to worry about it but I don't know how I am going to do what I need to do until I start getting an income again..ugh...why do employers insist on dragging things out, or are they just not interested. I really don't understand what is going on and it's probably what angers me the most. Is it that hard to notify someone of SOMETHING? Ugh...

Anyway, I ventured out in my sickly vehicle and marketed myself today. Here's hoping that someone will bother to give me a chance. Not sure if I deserve one, but I would surely appreciate one. I don't know if there is more that I could or should do to get to these people and find out what the FUCK is going on. Shit like this makes people sell themselves or start stripping. It's ridiculous and for one am tired of it. I don't believe it is time for me to relocate to New York yet but what else can I do here??? My entire life is at a standstill. My living situation, my car, my health (soon) and other things including probation fees are all affected by this and it's out of my control now. THAT is the second most frustrating aspect of this bullshit.

NOT liking my life right now...

Signed,
The Ice King

Tuesday, November 24, 2009

The Miseducation of Derrell Williams





Signed,

The Ice King

B.I.T.C.H.

What's Up, rock stars? How you doin'?

Thanks to the magnetic Tabatha Coffey (BravoTV, Salon Takeover)

I am taking on the label Bitch. Here's precisely what a bitch is:

B.old

I.ntuitive

T.enacious

C.harismatic

H.onest


That's riiiight!!!! The Ice King, aka D Bernard, aka D'Rell, is a BITCH. You like it, I love it!!! HOLLA!!!!!!!!!








Signed,

The Ice King

Sunday, November 22, 2009

Queen Elizabeth Inita-Jobe Williams

Well...since my crazy ass twin requested (or should I say demanded) to be included on this blog, I thought an appearance by the elusive Queen E was in order...so...


HERE SHE IS, MUTHAFUCKAS!!!











I just sent her a text so she should be happy with this ans will see it when she logs back in (as soon as she gets off the toilet...nasty bitch...)


Signed,

The Ice King

Stars I Love 3


And who could forget the lovely Mistah Ford ;-)

Signed,

The Ice King

Sunday

Renewed my appreciation for Law and Order: SVU. Aside from that, I sincerely hope that I hear something from someone tomorrow. The good news is that I WILL be working Thanksgiving night parking cars from 10:30 to around 3. Not sure yet about how that will figure into my plans as far as the family goes, but it will seem as if I'm going out to a club-10:30 to 3? 4 and a half hours, plus tips. Not bad. Not bad at all.

Add that to the fact that I will be looking into getting food stamps on Tuesday and I may be starting to make some progress. Thank you Lord, lol. Seriously...I'm a believer!!!

Signed,

The Ice King

A Wise Man Once Said...




Signed,

The Charismatic Ice King

Stars I Love 2

A continuation of the series profiling stars I adore ;-)





Adult Entertainer Vin Marco




World Class Wrestler Triple H







The gorgeous Ricky Sinz




Signed

The Ice King

Life As It Is

It is the morning of November 22. Thanksgiving is less than a week away, yet I am still for all intents and purposes unemployed. I never thought in a million years that this period would last so long.

It seems that with each application I send in, I wonder to myself if anything will even come of it. If I had gotten this far and employers were even hiring, it shouldn't be taking this long. But one of my best friends also told me about how it took her daughter a month to be contacted by the place she's currently working at. So maybe I'm just impatient.

Impatient or not, life goes on, and bills continue to roll in. Food still needs to be bought, and my newly paid for car needs serious repairs and gas to fucking run. And then there are things I would LIKE to get, aside from rent and utilities and the obvious necessities in life that need to be paid or taken care of. I don't understand why people take the time to post availability on numerous sites but do NOT contact you when you apply. Whatever...

I know it's coming, but I have never been a fan of the waiting game. Oh well. I suppose God is trying to show me something through this. What is yet to be seen, but I am so sick of waiting. I want to go out and be able to contribute to society by doing something that makes me happy. That's not a difficult goal for me to aspire to, so now I ask, 'what the HELL is going on?'

On the flipside, I did manage to send two totally different text messages tonight, the first relating to sexual relations, the other berating a piece of scum that brought heartache and headache to a dear friend of mine. That was empowering. In the end I know I have to believe that anything I set my mind to I can accomplish, so I should not be fearful of trying new things. I know what I can do in similar situations, and I have been in worse situations, so I cannot let this defeat me. I know it won't. I am just tired of the waiting period. Where is my life going right now with this waiting period intact and ever prevalent? I need to focus more on self improvement while i am in this "between stage". Otherwise it will seem as if it's been for nothing. Nothing is for nothing. I KNOW that everything happens for a reason. And with that in mind, I pray.


Signed,

The Ice King

Friday, November 13, 2009

Stars I Love





My role model and brother from another mother
(by the way-it's not eyeliner-it's GUYliner!)




My soon-to wife (she just doesn't know it yet)









Baby Daddy #1, Mr. Adam Champ



Signed

The Ice King

A Little Lack of Alcohol

Packing is almost done and I've shifted most of my belongings from Pooler to Georgetown. Now I am just thinking. My heart is heavy and the song "Already Gone" by Kelly Clarkson is in my head. I didn't want today to transpire the way it did but I tried my best to get it all out. And still my words were misconstrued into things I didn't actually mean OR say. Not my fault, so I don't feel bad. I am sick of feeling bad, and when I shouldn't feel bad, I not going to. I'm the fucking Ice King. Feeling bad gives me wrinkles.
This weekend will commence with many things: the arrival of my new phone, my monies, and my acquisition of alcoholic beverages so that I can get drunk-JUST enough to feel good, and chill. I miss doing that-especially these days.

Well, in the art of posting for todsy I thought I would say something. So there it is-la-ti-da! I'll be back when I'm feeling more creative ;-)



Signed,

The Ice King

Thursday, November 12, 2009














That says it all, peeps....






Signed,

The Ice King

Fast Forward

Woow...months later I have returned to a world I only briefly stepped into. Hello, minions-how has life treated you in my absence? LOL...anyway...
I am leaving the fair town of Pooler to go back into Savannah for now. My initial plan was to stay in Pooler-then I thought-why not downtown? But it seems 3rd time is the charm-for I will be on near I-95, but from a different angle-the southside of Savannah. This will suit me as I prepare to line up my arrangements to leave for New York...
Work is what is has been since October 7th-non existent. I've had one job since then which was a temp job and the company that did "hire" me never called me back with my schedule so suffice it to say I am still unemployed and looking. But by week's end, who knows? I could very well be someone's admin assistant....
I am saying good-bye to those in my life that I do not need and who have betrayed me for their own selfish reasons. I find no honor in that and it tells me nothing short of the fact that they need to be removed from my life before they do any more damage to it. Those people don't deserve my kindness, my love, attention, or concern, so I will separate from them and associate myself with people who are worthy of taking up my oxygen and space...
I am pushing myself through this to get back to one of my first loves--writing. I have felt so different from the Derrell that I used to be that it baffles me. Writing and music were who I was, and yet, here I am without them. Going through a box I found a school newspaper from my junior year with the first real published article that I had written for it. Alongside that, lyrics to a song I wrote in 2004, and reflected on who I was at that time. Much is different, but fundamentally I am the same-or am I really? Have I changed for the better? Or has experience only altered me into a different pattern, a new M.O.? Who the fuck knows...
But I do intend to find out, as I contemplate my menthol cigarettes and myspace profile...many questions I intend to answer soon....but this is day one, after all.

Signed,

The Ice King

Sunday, June 21, 2009

A Treaty of Malice

This lovely message is dedicated to the "Mean Girls" of the world, sponsored in part by those who don't care
for your bullshit. OR, otherwise known as, "Pt. 2 of My Last Post."

Suppose you were among these fabled groups of people who are "envied" by others. 
Would you relish in the "fact" that you have so "much"?
Would be as vicious and spiteful to those others outside of your network?
Look down upon them for being different from your friends, and even make them inferior because they ARE 
outside of your network and therefore "unworthy" to even be sniffed at? WOULD you wake up every day, refreshed and joyful because
your day will be spent doing what you love to do and that you can also do your job with a side of nastiness and get away with it?
Will this be your motivation for living? For enjoying your job? For doing what you want to do and get what you want to get out of life?
Well...that may very well be the case, but if you didn't notice, there are other types of people in the world.

There are those who DON'T give a DAMN about your snippy little social network. There are people living who couldn't care L ESS about the fact that you even exist today,
and even beyond that are bothered by the fact that you are taking up our air. So why are you? Why flounce about day in and day out,
doing what you do, going on through life with an air of nonchalant, and DARE i say it, conceit?

I tell you this, you serve a purpose. This purpose is to be a source of amusement for those see you-those who walk about,
living their lives, who actually DO give a shit about what happens in life outside of their bubbles. I hate to be to inform you of this,
but once upon a time, someone said something great: "GO FUCK YOURSELF".
Ahem--there. I'm sorry, my phase of bluntness has officially ended, I believe. But the point is, life does not require us to be
this way in order to live. What baffles me is how people even get to this place in their daily living. Is it an epiphany process?
Is it something they just wake up and decide to do, or some random thought that strikes them as they're on the toilet?
I don't know, and don't truly get it. At one point, I could somewhat comprehend this attitude-when things are going so well in your life
it would be very easy to take on this attitude to ride on the high of life and not care about anything that was happening.
BUT THERE IS MORE TO LIFE than being Helen-Head-Up-Your-Ass!!! I'm sorry-there I go again, oh well...

Your day shall come, Mean Girls. And when your Mannolo heel breaks on the cobblestone and you topple over, Dior sunglasses and
Gucci handbag fallen by the wayside, look up for help. You will see me. And I will keep walking, laughter rising from my lungs.





Signed,

The Ice King

Saturday, June 20, 2009

And the Beat Goes On...

I dedicate this to the people around who live by the delusion that your life is essentially worthless if they're not involved in some form or fashion. When that becomes the first thing people think of about you, that is-in some ways, success (congratulations, you've got a REP now!!!) and in other ways, the personification of apathy. So yes, if that is indeed your goal, congratu-fucking-lations. You're a rock star, baby!
I felt the need to write this when realizing that this existence overshadowed the working part of my day. As if there isn't enough to deal with in the meeting spaces and service hallways, you have the "Mean Girls Mafia" every hair color represented, every style mimicked and imitated in some form or fashion. I've never found this to be an attractive lifestyle, and although at one point I almost adopted the M.O. I made the decision that people aren't worth that kind of self-compromise. Therefore, I've taken it upon myself to inform YOU-the masses, that this is neither clever nor cute. Leave the roles of the Mean Girls to the Lindsay Lohans of the world. They're paid to act out that BS-and YOU get BS for it in return.
I recommend doing the world a favor-stay in your room, sleep for another two hours, emerge with an attitude that people will want to see, not something to make them nauseous. Just a simple thought-i seem to have a lot of those lately ;-)

Cheers,
The Ice King

Friday, June 19, 2009

Because Time Is of the Essence...

What has your time gotten you lately? A fresh load of laundry? A much deserved paycheck? A wedding anniversary? A long-awaited promotion? A SLAP in the FACE?
While I have never been one to dish out slaps in the face this subject angers me greatly simply because of the message involved-namely, when time invested gets you little to nothing. It should go without saying that it is hard to maintain motivation when you don't see your efforts reaping any fruit. It can also be hard to maintain spirit and commitment when you see that others are being put ahead of you.
In this day and age you would think society had already made peace with the statement "do unto others as you would have them do unto you" but still the philosophy rings alien in the minds of others-so should anyone bother when so many choose not to?
Why should I withhold my harsh opinion of a dress when the next person is going to decide to ruin their day without concern of tact? Why should I not say what I feel when angered when knowing that if it were them I would have to hear of it along with the REST of America? Is it really fair to hold ourselves to standards that so many cast away as being "prudish" or "ignorant", or dare I say, "STUPID"?
That's your decision to make. But in returning to the topic, I will simply say this: there will come a day when those who valiantly put forth effort will have motivation no more to submit to a cause that has lost all merit. And when that day comes, those in need will suddenly realize...they're SCREWED. :-)

-Cheers,
The Ice King

Thursday, June 18, 2009

A Day of Idiotic Proportions


Let's see...realizing that everyone is not a dedicated hospitality worker (or in hospitality period, for those undedicated individuals) I apply to the concept of this post a common principal: that of give and take. If you give 100 percent, then you should readily expect 100 percent. HOWEVER, if certain individuals decide they shall board the Train of Delusion by believing that giving 45 percent will reap them 100 or more then it is the rest of the world's job to inform them that they are MOST SADLY mistaken. 
Fifty or more calls about temperature for a room should NOT be necessary for initiative to be taken by the workers labeled as 'dedicated' by corporate training. Corporate training while effective in its theory, fails to maintain its penultimate influence outside of the training room-and while I am here, let's take a moment to ponder the life of brand training and the course that it runs-from one ear through the other :-)
A. Initial reaction to presented material takes attendee of training off guard; therefore, the material is brought during the moments of its greatest influence-the moment during which it either takes root or falls by the wayside, battered by the winds of rejection.
B. Continuing presentations will begin an imprint of attitude in one's mind (i.e. the thoughts 'oh wow, this is so true, I can compare this to situations I deal with everyday!' or 'fuck this stupid shit'.)
C. Depending on the class, participants may be called to engage by activity or offering an experience to contribute to the greater goal of the material. At this point, you have either won or lost a certain number of your participants. The material given during brand training at this point is probably bouncing about the room, searching for a willing mind to sink into and grow inside of.  Sadly, this happens far too seldomly...
D. While a fresh and new idea, the material taken from the course is vivid in the minds of those who attended. They can take from it what they will, or be the imbeciles they may desire to be, resolving not to care and refusing to take anything from it that will change their current modus operandi. 
Which brings me to...YOU.
Do me a favor and remember that we as hospitality workers are SUPPOSED to be working toward the same goal-pleasing the guest., whether that guest be in their room or in function space overseeing a meeting. Presenting yourself as rude to one in charge of taking care of these meetings will only confirm the rumors about you that are likely floating around the property, and unnecessarily place you in the category of "bitchassness". Yes, damnit, I said it! B-I-T-C-H-A-S-S-N -E-S-S ! Write it down, look it up, and GET YOURSELF TOGETHER!!! Please and thank you! It will make a VERY successful meeting and cause your boss less headache.

-Cheers,
The Ice King

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Pick A Meal, Any Meal

So the thought randomly occurs to me that if one HAS to communicate something, it should be done so quickly, effectively, and absolutely. Not that anyone follows these practices the way they theoretically should (I for instance still suffer problems in this regard) but in the working world, more importantly the Convention Services world, holding information is equivalent to letting a patient die on the operating table. Not releasing it (saving that patient) could easily and quickly kill both meeting, function, motivation for staff, and hinder any profit extracted by host property.

That being said, all should go into the role of meeting planner with a game plan. Know what you're doing, before you do it. Nothing is more frustrating than a meeting planner who has tasks and information spilling all over themselves because they don't know what to do with it. It's ACTUALLY not that difficult to implement that goal seeing as to how society has deemed it necessary to print various "Meeting Planning for Dummies" tutorial kits so they can all hear the cliched phrase:

"SO YOU'RE GOING TO BE A MEETING PLANNER"

I don't smell rocket science anywhere in the vicinity, but I my nose could be failing me. Allow me to continue:
  1. NO ONE is psychic
  2. A 4 star property certifies you have a staff that is at least willing
  3. Food already cooked can actually overcook when sitting due to last minute information that spilled out of someone's belongings and landed underneath the head table.
Please, please, please, give room to those who need it! If 90 degree weather presents itself with a relentless sun and staggering humidity, we cannot change it, we can only work around it (and uncomfortably I might add) But as the final word before the apocalypse, we are essentially powerless without word from YOU-the meeting planner. So I ask you--what is your word? Is it a beautiful day in the neighborhood, or are we screwed mercilessly with no KY? I for one do not like waiting to find this information out--and that's what it goes back to--INFORMATION and COMMUNICATION. And IC has a message for all of us-THEY WOULD LIKE TO BE USED MORE OFTEN!!!!!
(Or at least, that's the text I got from them this morning before they became legally separated) I don't know...what can I say...I'm just an industry worker like you. But my "you" is kind of annoyed-let me scratch it for a sec---)...

-Psychiatrist for You